2012 ALA Youth Media Awards Feature Poets

Congratulations to all the winners and honorees of the 2012 American Library Association Youth Media Awards, including Newbery Medalist Jack Gantos for Dead End in Norvelt and Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka for A Ball for Daisy!

It is also a great day for poets and verse novelists:

  • Thanhha Lai, INSIDE OUT & BACK AGAIN (HarperCollins), Newbery Honor
  • Eloise Greenfield, THE GREAT MIGRATION: Journey to the North (Amistad/HarperCollins), Coretta Scott King Author Honor
  • Patricia McKissack, NEVER FORGOTTEN (Schwartz & Wade), Coretta Scott King Author Honor
  • Guadalupe Garcia McCall, UNDER THE MESQUITE (Lee & Low), Pura Belpré Author Award Winner and William C. Morris Finalist
  • Margarita Engle, HURRICANE DANCERS (Holt), Pura Belpré Honor
  • Ashley Bryan, Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement